Neverending Chocolate Cake

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A couple of months ago we started following the Feingold Program to help with food sensitivities, hyperactivity and some other negative behaviors that we were seeing in the little princess.  So far it has made an extremely positive impact on her so we are trying our best to keep to the program.  As I have mentioned previously we are also a semi-homemade kind of family so this can present a challenge when trying to cook up some of our favorite things.  I have been trying out several “Feingold Friendly” baking mixes and this cake turned out to be a major hit!

NEVER-ENDING CHOCOLATE BUNDT CAKE (Adapted from The Cake Mix Doctor)

1 (18.25 oz) Chocolate cake mix * (I used Dr. Oetker’s Organic Chocolate Cake Mix)
1 (3.9 oz.) pkg. dark fudge instant pudding mix (I used Trader Joe’s Brand)
1 1/4 cups buttermilk (I use Powdered)
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp. pure vanilla
1/2 cup chocolate syrup (I used Trader Joe’s Brand)
1-2 Tablespoons instant coffee crystals
4 eggs
1-2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips** (I used Ghirerdelli Brand)

Preheat oven to 325°F. In large bowl, combine cake mix, pudding mix, milk, oil, syrup, coffee crystals, and eggs. Beat on low-speed to blend, then beat on medium speed for 2 to 3 minutes. Gently stir in chocolate chips and pour batter into greased and floured 12-cup capacity Bundt cake pan.

Bake for 55 minute to 1 hour (mine was about 58 minutes) or until cake tester comes out clean. Let cake cool in pan for 10 minutes, and then turn out onto cooling rack. Sprinkle with powdered sugar for garnish or drizzle with Chocolate Glaze. (I used Chocolate Glaze)
To make it look extra special, drizzle white over the dark chocolate glaze. It adds just a little extra something to the appearance of the cake.

Chocolate Glaze
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirerdelli Brand)
2/3 cup evaporated milk
Combine chocolate and milk in small saucepan. Cook and stir over low heat until blended and mixture comes to a boil. Lower heat and cook, stirring constantly until thickened.

WHITE CHOCOLATE DRIZZLING GLAZE
Place 1/2 cup White Chocolate Chips (I used Ghirerdelli Brand) and 1/2 teaspoon shortening (do not use butter, margarine, spread or oil) in small heavy seal-top plastic bag. Microwave at HIGH (100%) 45 seconds. Squeeze gently. If necessary, microwave an additional 10 to 15 seconds; squeeze until chips are melted. Make small diagonal cut in one bottom corner of bag; squeeze mixture onto cake as directed.

NOTE: The original recipe used “Betty Crocker Triple Chocolate Cake Mix *, and Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Chips.**”

Photobucket

About jreed1920

I am a mom to a beautiful daughter with Autism Spectrum Disorder. We started homeschooling in January 2010 and it has been the best educational decision we have ever made. We use an ecclectic curriculum combining online learning with lapbooking and lots of hands-on, natural setting learning. We use Sue Patrick's Workbox System to keep it all together.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Neverending Chocolate Cake

  1. Lexi says:

    Hi from the HHH!

    Is it worth buying into the feingold system? I have thought about it for my son, but was wary since I know basically nothing about it.

    That cake looks so yummy!

    • jreed1920 says:

      Feingold has made a huge difference for us. I would say if you are seeing issues with hyperactivity, moodiness, aggression, anxiety then it is totally worth giving it a try. I have found it much easier to implement than I thought it would be and the rewards have been so worth it. Really you have nothing to lose.

  2. Jessy says:

    That cake looks YUMMY! The kids did a GREAT job putting it together. (I think I would find it “dangerous” here as I’m BIG on chocolate! LOL)

    With my son who has SPD, I’ve tried to follow some of the Feingold Program, but I guess you need to follow it 100% to have the best results. I was also thinking it would help my daughter (almost 9) who has occasional migraines. Could you post the name and author of the book that you use??

    Jessy

    http://oursideofthemtn.blogspot.com

    • jreed1920 says:

      I use the Official Feingold Handbook, Foodlist & Shopping Guide http://www.feingold.org/program.php The food list makes i really easy since it lists a gazillion actual brands of products that are safe and most things are easy to find. Once you figure out what is safe to use and start stocking your house & pantry with them it just becomes the new “normal”

  3. Joelle says:

    The cake looks good. Thanks for topping by.

Leave a Reply

