Home School? What? Why? How? I could NEVER do that!


This is what we heard in January 2010 when we decided as a family that it was time to take our daughter out of public school and try our hand at home schooling. We made this decision because at the time there were no really great education options for our 7 year old daughter who happens to have autism. This isn’t to say that the options were particularly bad but I knew there had to be something better and so far I think we have found it through home schooling. We are very happy with our decision to home school.

In North Carolina becoming a home school is a fairly easy process but the state does not provide a lot of guidance and support as to how to run your home school. There are some great home school resources made available by other home schoolers and organizations and I rely on those resources, the internet and trial and error to develop what we think is a great education system for our child. I get asked a lot how I do what I do soΒ I thought I would create this blog to share what is working for us in the hopes it may help somebody else who is traveling down the home school path.

About reedacademy2010

This is the blog for our journey into Homeschooling. My name is Julie and I am the Headmistress of Reed Academy, our Home School. I am married to a great guy, and mom to a beautiful daughter. I used to work full-time in the networking industry but I gave that up and now I love being able to home school my daughter and working my Mary Kay business as well. I love to travel, especially via cruise ship and to Disney World. I would like to visit Europe, Asia and Australia in the next few years. I have aspirations to one day hold some sort of public office and I think I might like to open a school or enrichment center for children with Autism.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Home School? What? Why? How? I could NEVER do that!

  1. Be thankful the state doesn’t tell you how to run your homeschool πŸ˜‰ But I know what ypu mean, if you don’t have some support it can be very daunting to begin. Thanks for linking up!

  2. Sherry says:

    Love reading how everyone is led to homeschool! πŸ™‚ My best friend homeschools in N.C. πŸ™‚

  3. Stef says:

    Thank you so much for linking up and posting this! I pray this post is supportive and a blessing to another family who shares your journey!!

    Stef
    the hsv

  4. Yes, it’s funny what people say. I (long story) had to pick up a friend’s 18 month old at the daycare center at the end of the day…and I made conversation with one of the daycare workers and I told her that I have four boys of my own and I homeschool. —After being at work for 9 hours or more taking care of OTHER children (not her own)–she said, “Wow, I could never do that! Must be hectic.” –My response (in a friendly manner) “I think this is hectic.” –pointing at children who were still in daycare at 6 PM at night. I use to have the children go to school up until 2 years ago…but I always wanted to homeschool. Now that I am, I am such a FAN and CHEERLEADER to homeschooling! πŸ™‚ Great post!

Leave a Reply

